The recipe of “It’s so fluffy I’m gonna die” Brioche

When I cut the first slice, I could just said “Oh my god, it’s so fluffy I’m gonna die”, like in the movie and it was shining like a gold. ^^

Brioche

You have probably seen my first brioche disaster on my first post, of course I could not stop trying after this failure. Yeah, I know it was a big disaster. It was flat, hard to knead, tasteless, too much yeast-smelly and many more… This time, instead of optimizing my current recipe, I have tried completely different one. I have followed “Golden Brioche Loaves” from the book “Baking From My Home to Yours” by Dorie Greenspan. And here is the music of the day while preparing:

Joe Cocker – Feelin’ Alright

Brioche

As you can see on pictures, this recipe could not have a better name than this. As the name implies, this brioche is shining like gold.

Brioche

I am quite satisfied with the result this time, but of course it can be way better. There is always better one. It does not mean the recipe is not good enough, the problem is I need to practice more and find the best flour brand and yeast, so I will try. That’s why my blog name is “Brioche Diaries”. I will keep trying until I bake the best brioche. My next recipe will be probably macarons though, I am not brioche-maniac, not yet at least haha. I am giving guarantee that you will be surprised, because my first macaron try was not a failure. They were so good and so “macaronish”. Anyway, no spoiler, you will read and see on my next post!

Brioche

This time the dough was really friendlier than the first one. It was perfectly smoother, more flexible and funny to knead. It rose more than before in a shorter amount of time. Even the surface of dough was better than before. I really love this recipe.

Brioche

On the original recipe, you see that there is a stand mixer for mixing and preparing the dough, but no worries, I did everything by hands and sometimes with my handmixer. There is one important thing I have to say that after adding the butter, try to not to knead so long by hands, because it makes butter melt faster and make the dough sticky and kinda slimy. So, it is better to use wooden spoon or spatula. I have used my handmixer at this point.

Here is the recipe:

INGREDIENTS
  • 80 ml lukewarm milk
  • 80 ml warm milk
  • 14 grams active dry yeast
  • 520 grams flour
  • 3 large eggs for the dough + 1 large egg for glaze
  • 340 grams unsalted butter at room temperature (but not softened completely), you can cut into 10 cubes to make it easier
INSTRUCTIONS
  • Mix the yeast, milk and water in a bowl until the yeast is dissolved and wait for 10-15 minutes.
  • Add the flour and salt and knead by hands for 4-5 minutes or with mixer for 2-3 minutes at medium speed.
  • Add the eggs one by one. Once you mix the egg completely with the dough, then add the second egg and then third one.
  • Add the sugar into the mixture and knead for 4-5 minutes more by hands.
  • Mix two cubes of butter at once and combine with the dough completely, then continue with next two butter cubes until all butter pieces are added.
  • At this point, I started to use my handmixer. And I beaten the dough for 10 min at high speed. When the dough become completely nonsticky, means the dough is ready to let it rise.
  • Transfered the dough into clean bowl, cover with plastic wrap or clean kitchen towel and wait for 60 min at room temperature. The dough will be doubled.
  • Put your fists on the dough to deflate the air. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and leave in the fridge. Every 30 min, keep deflating the air, until the dough stops rising. (At least repeat 3 times)
  • Leave the covered dough overnight in the fridge.
  • Next day, put the baking paper properly in 2 large loaf pans. Divide the dough into 8 equal pieces and put into the loaf pans. Cover with clean towels for 2 hours at room temperature until the dough rises.
  • Preheat oven to 200°C.
  • Stir the egg with one tablespoon of water. Brush the top of the brioche gently with this mixture and bake until you see perfectly golden color and fluffy dough (30-35 min).
  • Be patient (I know it is really hard) and let it cool down to room temperature. Et voilà!

Bon Appétit! ♥

 

Leave a Reply

