First attempt: Brioche

Well, maybe I should have written “first fail” instead of “attempt”…

Hello everyone! You brioche-lovers!

I love eating brioche, with or without jam/nutella/butter&honey etc. Personally, I love brioche with feta cheese (or any other white cheese), black olive and fresh summer tomatoes. I know it sounds weird, but I am so used to have it during my good and long weekend brunches. I love brioche, its softness and texture, and also light fresh yeast smell… At least I was imagining them while I was baking. It is a shame that my first post is going to be my first brioche disaster. Scroll down to see what I’ve done. You will also see what you should NOT do. But first, here is the music while baking:

Medi – How Would You Do It 

Since my brioche was really big failure, I am asking you now, “How would you do it?” to make the brioche better, please leave comments.

Brioche

There are some possible reasons of this failure. First, I did not use baton cake form, so the dough became kind of melted form in the oven and spread on the silicone baking mat (silpat). Second, maybe I should have kneaded the dough more. Because I stopped kneading just after I saw everything combined. I did not wait until it reached smooth texture. Third, I might have killed the yeast with hot milk, because my dough was always smaller than how it was supposed to be, means there was something wrong with the yeast. Finally, the flour might be wrong choice. Too many parameters, I really have no idea which step was failed. Good thing is that my second brioche was really good and fluffy, so next post will be my second brioche attempt.

IMG_4776

Anyway, enough chit-chat, here is “what I have done and what you should not do” recipe:

INGREDIENTS
  • 500 grams sifted flour
  • 25 grams dry yeast
  • 3 eggs
  • 110 grams sugar
  • 110 grams softened butter
  • 5 cl crème fraîche
  • 10 cl milk
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • A pinch of salt
INSTRUCTIONS
  • In a medium saucepan, heat the milk with the vanilla extract until it is warm, then add the yeast in it and let it activate (I have waited for 10-15 min).
  • In a bowl, put the flour, sugar, salt, softened butter and 2 eggs. After mixing well, add prepared milk above and crème fraîche.
  • Knead the dough until it is smooth and elastic (The problem is that I could never manage to get soft and elastic dough, it was really hard and tough).
  • Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and let the dough rise in a warm place for about 6 hours. (After 6 hours waiting time, my dough did not raise as it should be, as you can see on pictures below. So I waited for one more hour).
  • Simply braid the dough into a 3-strand braid and wait for an hour.
  • Finally, beat the egg with a drop of water and apply on the brioche with pastry brush or your fingers
  • Pre-heat the oven to 180°C and bake for 40 min.
  • Let it cool. Ready to eat!

Now I will share the result to make you laugh.

IMG_4700

And second picture, of course you have to see the depth of my brioche besides its width and length:

IMG_4701

Maybe I shouldn’t call it as a “brioche”. But come on, it was the first try. Wait for next post to see spongy brioche and leave your comments. ^^

Bon Appétit! ♥

Leave a Reply

